OLIS sponsors the Summer Reading Program, a cooperative effort among libraries in Rhode Island to motivate children and teens to read for pleasure and to help them maintain reading skills during the summer months. The Summer Reading Program also encompasses adult programs that encourage adults to explore new genres, pursue new interests, and model lifelong learning and reading to children and teens. OLIS provides public libraries with iREAD programming materials to support library staff in motivating children, young adults, and adults to read and learn. The statewide Rhode Island Summer Reading Program is supported by the RI Office of Library and Information Services, with funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services.
Using IMLS funding, OLIS provides public libraries with iREAD guides and promotional materials.Libraries that have received a guide, posters, and bookmarks, and that use any iREAD materials (including the slogan and artwork) must use the following credit line on ALL SRP signs, press releases, posters, websites and promotions. Libraries may personalize this credit line by adding the library’s name and the names of local sponsors at the end:
The statewide Rhode Island Summer Reading Program is supported by the RI Office of Library and Information Services, with funds from the Institute of Museum and Library Services.
To better connect libraries and presenters to support educational, cultural, recreational, and civic programming in libraries, OLIS has launched the Library Presenter Directory (LPD). The LPD is an online clearinghouse for information about program presenters, as submitted by presenters, for the use of Rhode Island libraries. For more information about the LPD including how to register, list programs, and search the directory, please visit:
Help spread the word! Rhode Island has an abundance of talented presenters who can offer a wide array of programs to libraries. OLIS encourages libraries to promote this new service to successful presenters you have engaged for your library so that we can create a rich and diverse directory of presenters. Please send the link listed above or the email listed below to presenters who may wish to be included in the LPD.
Additional resources for identifying and selecting presenters include:
Resources for arranging bookings with presenters:
Summer 2025: Level Up at Your Library
Theme: Play, Puzzles, Games
Artists: Ruth Chan, Oge Mora, Vanessa Brantley Newton, Carey Pietsch
Summer 2026: slogan TBA
Theme: Farm to Table
Artists: TBA
Transforming Summer Programs at Your Library by
"Traditional summer reading programs need to be reimagined. Working groups of librarians, in partnership with the California Library Association and the California State Library, have done just that, creating and implementing outcomes- and outreach-based summer reading programs that speak directly to diverse and changing communities" --
No More Reading for Junk by
Pizza. Pez dispensers. Nerf balls. When we give students "junk" to reward reading, we are focusing their intention away from the act of reading and from their own independence as readers. Instead, we can create classrooms where reading is seen as its own reward. In this book, esteemed researcher Linda Gambrell provides a research-based context for cultivating children's intrinsic motivation to read and identifies three essential principles, the "ARC" of motivation: access: giving kids a wealth of reading materials and opportunities to discuss texts relevance: offering high interest, moderately challenging and authentic reading experiences choice: allowing students to self-select texts and reading activities What exactly do those principles look like in action? Reading specialist and researcher Barbara Marinak shares the strategies and techniques that make a difference for student readers' motivation, turning disengaged readers into passionate ones. "Pizza and Pez dispensers are short lived," Linda and Barbara write, "but confident and empowered readers are likely to remain motivated for life."
Successful Summer Reading Programs for All Ages by
The summer reading program is the focal point of a children's librarian's year, requiring countless hours of preparation and nearly year-round promotion. Summer reading programs for teens and adults are also offered in many communities, adding to that workload and bringing together librarians from different departments to accomplish the required tasks. In a single volume, Successful Summer Reading Programs for All Ages: A Practical Guide for Librarians provides the tools necessary to put together successful summer reading programs for each of these different age groups. Key elements include: - Sample program ideas for early childhood, school-age, teen, and adult readers to suit any summer reading theme -Best practices for promoting summer reading to the community -Troubleshooting for common difficulties associated with summer reading programs -Tips and tricks for using software programs to manage registration and track readers' progress Public librarians serving children, teens, and/or adults will find everything they need to put together a successful summer reading program in this comprehensive handbook.
