LibGuides: COVID-19: Information for Rhode Island Libraries: Reopening RI Libraries

June 14

RI updated guidance on May 21 and has relaxed most coronavirus restrictions, including mask-wearing and physical distancing for fully vaccinated individuals, though the State of Emergency remains in effect through July 9. As of May 21, libraries can operate at 100% capacity no restrictions for fully vaccinated individuals. See Reopening Rhode Island Guidance & Best Practices for the most up-to-date guidance. Signage must still be posted.

All Rhode Islanders 12 and over may get vaccinated at no cost. See Reopening Libraries Vaccine Information for more information. Those experiencing COVID-like symptoms should get tested at a free test site.

Reopening RI Libraries

UPDATED Frequently Asked Questions
Questions and answers about reopening and operating libraries in accordance with state guidance and health protocols. Vaccination information updated.. (4/30/21)

Reopening Libraries - Phase III
July 3, 2020 - guidance for libraries for Phase III. Includes highlights of relevant regulations. Updated July 10, 2020.
Reopening Libraries Phase II
May 29, 2020 - guidance for libraries for Phase II.
Reopening Rhode Island Libraries
Presentation to libraries May 7, 2020; updated May 15 to adjust gathering limits (p. 6) and add links (p. 12)
Reopening Libraries: Overview
Checklist and Considerations
Developing a Plan
Buildings
Staff
Public Programs and Services
Circulation and ILL
Computers and Technology
Taskforce

Additional Library Resources

UPDATED Interim Public Health Recommendations for Fully Vaccinated People
CDC guidance. Includes guidance that fully vaccinated people no longer need to wear a mask or physically distance in any setting, except where required by federal, state, or local laws, rules, and regulations, including local business and workplace guidance. (5/13/2021) Also see When You’ve Been Fully Vaccinated. (5/28/2021)
SARS-CoV-2 and Surface Spread
Updated information on surface spread. Surfaces are not the primary method of transmission of COVID. (CDC, 4/5/2021)
UPDATED Reopening Archives, Libraries, and Museums (REALM)
National project researching how long COVID-19 survives on library materials; resources also include samples of reopening plans.
HVAC for Libraries During COVID-19
From the Mass. Board of Library Commissioners - helpful links to resources on ventilation, air filtration, and cleaning.
Communications during COVID-19
Overall messaging, communications planning, and action plans (Texas State Library)
Mental Health and COVID-19
List of articles on mental health, stress, and coping during COVID-19 (Montana State Library)

Staff Safety to Return to Work
Considerations about staff safety upon returning to work during COVID-19, based on the Critical Incident Stress Debriefing Model (Montana State Library)

State of RI Quicklinks

UPDATED RI Dept of Health Regulations
Regulations for Safe Activities By Covered Entities During the COVID-19 Emergency (includes libraries) Mask-wearing regulations remain in effect through May 3. (updated 3/26/21)
UPDATED Governor's Executive Orders
Includes executive orders and extensions of orders, regarding COVID. Executive Order 21-65 (June 9, 2021) extends the State of Emergency thru July 9; Executive Orders 21-62 (June 2, 2021) and 21-63 update the mask order requiring all individuals who are not fully vaccinated to wear masks; Executive Order 21-57 (May 27, 2021) continues the requirement for businesses to remain vigilant and post signage thru June 18.
RI COVID-19 Information: Department of Health
Holding Public Meetings via Video Conference
Best practices and technical information on how to use Zoom to hold public meetings subject to the Open Meetings Act (RI Secretary of State).
RI Department of Business Regulation
Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training
What Mandatory Masks Mean for You
From the RI Commerce Corporation
RI Commerce: Business guidelines during crisis
RI Commerce: COVID-19 Business Checklist

Reopening, Vaccination, Testing & Quarantine

UPDATED The following resources are available from the RI Dept. of Health (RIDOH) unless otherwise noted.

NEW Reopening Rhode Island Guidance & Best Practices
Most recent guidance on reopening. (6/1/2021)
NEW Reopening RI Signage
Updated signage for June 2021.
UPDATED Reopening: Stay the course on safety
Guidance for May 2021. Updated 5/21/2021.
UPDATED Interim Public Health Recommendations for Fully Vaccinated People
CDC guidance. Includes guidance that fully vaccinated people no longer need to wear a mask or physically distance in any setting, except where required by federal, state, or local laws, rules, and regulations, including local business and workplace guidance. (5/13/2021) Also see When You’ve Been Fully Vaccinated. (5/28/2021)
Project Your Household, Your Business, and RI's Progress
Updated guidance for businesses, places of assembly, and individuals. (5/7/2021)
UPDATED RI Vaccine Information
RIDOH information on plans for vaccine distribution. Includes timeline for vaccination.
UPDATED Vaccine FAQ
Regularly updated and detailed information on the vaccine and vaccination in RI.
Quarantine Information
Information about quarantine and isolation, who should do this, and for how long. Includes information about testing positive. RIDOH quarantine requirements were updated on Dec 10; a quarantine FAQ was added on Feb 4..
COVID-19 Testing
Testing is available for all Rhode Islanders: those who are symptomatic, asymptomatic, or a close contact of someone who has tested positive. Schedule a test or check your test results.
more...less...
The CDC defines a close contact as someone who was within 6 feet of an infected person for a cumulative total of 15 minutes or more over a 24-hour period starting from 2 days before illness onset (or, for asymptomatic patients, 2 days prior to test specimen collection) until the time the patient is isolated.
Tips for At-Home Quarantine or Self-Monitoring
Tipsheet about what to do if you’ve been directed to quarantine or self-monitor because of possible exposure to COVID.
Testing Positive
Information about what you and your close contacts should do if you have COVID-19.
COVID-19 & Contact Tracing
Learn how contact tracing works and what you need to do if you receive a call from a contact tracer.
Crush COVID RI
Protect Your Household and help raise awareness of the many ways to Crush COVID. Promo videos and other useful resources. #CrushCovidRI
Cleaning and Disinfecting Your Facility
CDC information on everyday steps, including detailed information about what to do when someone is sick, and other considerations for employers.

Reopening Rhode Island

UPDATED Reopening RI
Key information for reopening; includes planning documents, posters, and updates. RI is in Phase III with updated guidance as of June 1, 2021.
UPDATED Reopening: Stay the course on safety
Guidance for May 2021. Updated 5/21/2021.
Rhode Island on Pause: FAQ
RI will pause from Nov 30-Dec 13, 2020. During this time all Phase III restrictions and guidance will carry forward unless specifically indicated via Executive Order.
Reopening RI: Phase III
Overview of Phase III, which starts June 30, 2020.
Phase III Guidance & Executive Orders (Highlights)
Reopening RI: Charting the Course
Rhode Island's phase plan to reopen the economy. (6/27/20)
Reopening RI: Phase II
Reopening RI: Phase I

Phase III Quicklinks

UPDATED Masking to Reduce Spread
Latest guidance on getting a tight fit on your mask, types of masks to use, and double masking. [April 6, 2021] Also see RI guidance on mask-wearing.
COVID-19 Workplace Playbook
Current guidance on keeping the workplace safe and open. [RI Dept. of Business Regulation, Feb 17, 2021]
COVID-19 Control Plan Template
Libraries must complete this document and have it on file at the library before opening to the public. Plan must be updated as appropriate. (May 7, 2021)
Control Plan Checklist
Libraries must complete, sign and post to indicate they have completed a COVID-19 Control Plan. (updated 06.19.20)
Workplace Common Areas
Phase III guidance for workplace common areas such as break rooms. (10/20/20)
Breakroom Guidance
Phase III guidance for breakrooms. (8/19/20)
Mask Wearing Poster (RIDOH)
Updated RIDOH poster showing the do's and don'ts of mask wearing, including mask types. Other RIDOH posters can be found at the RIDOH Posters link below.
Required Entry Signage
All entities serving the public must display this sign; available in multiple languages on Reopening RI. (6/19/20)
RIDOH COVID-19 Health Screening Tool
Updated 7/3/20
Crush COVID RI
Protect Your Household and help raise awareness of the many ways to Crush COVID. Promo videos and other useful resources. #CrushCovidRI
CDC:Cleaning & Disinfecting Your Facility
Everyday steps, including when someone is sick, and and other considerations for employers. For more in-depth information on cleaning, visit the CDC's Reopening Guidance for Cleaning and Disinfecting.
Phase III Retail Guidelines
Published 6/27/20 - guidelines apply to customer serving organizations such as libraries.
Recreational, Historical, Cultural, and Entertainment Establishments Guidelines
Important information for outdoor events. Published 7/1/20
COVID-19 Information for Businesses (RIDOH)
Includes information about reporting cases, returning to work, factsheets, etc.
Phase II General Business/Organization Guidelines
Comprehensive guidance and minimum requirements to help protect employees and customers. Applies to Phase III.
COVID-19 Business Resources
Resources for supplies,, including master list of RI suppliers (updated 6/24/20).
Mask Wearing Poster (Commerce RI)
Basic poster, also available in Spanish at commerceri.com/masks/